Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1714 S.W. 34th Street
Gainesville, FL  32607

Friday, July 25, 2014

Meeting called to order at 8:45 AM with the pledge of allegiance following roll call.

Council Members Present:  (15)

Bruce Miles, Dan O’Connor, Robert Kelly, Donté Mickens, Sandra Martin, Gloria Mills, Sheryl Brown, Leanne Grillot, Lenora Marten, Sylvia Stinson-Perez, Paul Kaminsky, Paul Edwards, Christopher White, Joe Minichiello and Robert Doyle, Director. 

Council Members Present via Teleconference: (4) Dwight Sayer, Patricia Lipovsky, and Jesus Garcia, Ben Grzesik

Council Members Absent: (1) Vicky Magliocchino
Council Staff: (1) Alise Fields

Attendees: (1)

John Henry Douglas (FRC) (FILC Liaison)

A motion to adopt the Agenda received followed by a second and passed.

Council Business

Approval of April Minutes -

Location and dates of July 2015 meeting -

Expired Terms/New Appointments

August 31, 2014 four terms expire – Two are eligible for reappointment, two are not eligible and new appointments are required.

Not eligible for reappointment

Advocacy Group - Florida Council of the Blind (FCB)

Paul Edwards – Second term

Advocacy Group - Blinded Veterans Association (BVA)

Paul Kaminsky – Second term

Eligible for reappointment

Advocacy Group - LIONS

Sandra Martin - First Term

Advocacy Group – National Federation of the Blind (NFB)

Gloria Mills – First term

Agenda Items for October 2014 meeting

Previous/New Business/Open Discussion

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:30 AM received a second and passed.

Return to top of page

DISCLAIMER: Links on the Florida Division of Blind Services (DBS) website that are directed toward websites outside the DBS, provide additional information that may be useful or interesting and are being provided consistent with the intended purpose of the DBS website. DBS cannot attest to the accuracy of information provided by non-DBS websites. Further, providing links to a non-DBS website does not constitute an endorsement by DBS, the Florida Department of Education or any of its employees, of the sponsors of the non-DBS website or of the information or products presented on the non-DBS website.